PRAY HATE PRAYHATE

 

 

I don’t care about religions anymore. I don’t care if you believe in one God or many. What I do care about is common respect for a fellow human being. It is not my intent to bash Christianity. I’m not Christian and never will be but I respect anyone who truly holds Christianity in their hearts. I was raised Muslim and although I do not practice like I should-I don’t cover my hair and I refuse to wear hijab so I’ll take that up with Allah when we meet. But I do carry Islam in my heart. I’m a good person. I treat people well and I only expect to be treated the same. I could never scream out things that attempt to break someones soul and destroy their character.

When I was a teenager I could be the mean girl. I was insecure, selfish, and spoiled. I could say somethings that would cut like a knife but you know what? That night as I tried to go to sleep my subconscious would replay my day for me and I’d be haunted. I grew out of being mean, slowly, but I found it so much easier to be a good person than it was to be hateful. I learned that lesson early in life. It boggles my mind how day after day after day since 2008 that I can see men and women filled with so much rage and so much hate and not feel dirty from it.

What is it in their soul that keeps that hate so pure? So many of these people claim a religion, claim this country was built on this religion, and will wear their WWJD t-shirts proudly but will make statements like:

Let his days be few and let another take his office

May his children be fatherless and his wife a widow

Kansas GOP House Speaker Mike O’Neal

O’Neal forwarded the prayer with his own message: “At last — I can honestly voice a Biblical prayer for our president! Look it up — it is word for word! Let us all bow our heads and pray. Brothers and Sisters, can I get an AMEN? AMEN!!!!!!”

American terrorism.

I don’t see how anyone of any religion can bow their heads down to pray and carry this much hate.

One thought on “PRAY HATE PRAYHATE

  1. I didn’t know you were raised Muslim-I enjoyed learning that about you and your perspective on religion. I’m a Christian but I completely agree with your thoughts on this…and that is why I’m struggling with how my faith is being represented…and wondering if I’ll ever step foot in a Christian church again. I’m just as confused and frustrated about the hate as you are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

