I Heart Thee

“You have the greatest soul, the noblest nature, the sweetest, most loving heart I have ever known, and my love, my reverence, my admiration for you, you have increased in one evening as I should have thought only a lifetime of intimate, loving association could have increased them. You are more wonderful and lovely in my eyes than you ever were before; and my pride and joy and gratitude that you should love me with such a perfect love are beyond all expression, except in some great poem which I cannot write.”

I came across this quote by Woodrow Wilson taken from a letter to his wife, I presume. Very beautiful sentiment and it sums up how I feel about  my culture, my  history, my black people.

We  have endured so much, we have come so far and our history, even in its tragedy, is beautiful. It is so sad to live the moments of  hurt and pain like we all did this weekend. It is so sad when so many of our youth and so many of our adults  don’t recognize the beauty in all of us. We have these great souls and noble natures. It may not show up all the time in the media, when there are fifty shootings a weekend in an urban city, or when shows like Basketball Wives show us fighting like animals but its an inherent of our communities. But it shows when we all collectively feel the pain of one.

When Harriet Tubman kept going back to free slaves even though she risked her own freedom many many times that is love. When we all cried for Trayvon’s mother and father  and marched for justice that was love.  Maybe we shouldn’t wait for the next tragedy but keep that feeling of love with us everyday.

We are not niggers no matter how a rapper tries to spin . We are decedents of  slaves and we are great because of them. We are  lions We are lovely. We are beautiful and we can’t keep fighting each other. The solidarity we have right now we have to maintain. We have to let the Zimmerman’s of the world know. We have to let the gangs, the thugs and the Basketball Wives groupies and fans know  that we come from greatness and we will stand by each other. We will stand together. We have to feel the love and admiration for one another that is expressed in that letter because it is who we are.

We have a lot of work to do.

Stand Your Ground.

One thought on “I Heart Thee

Leave a Reply

