Rejection Doesn’t have to Hurt

This is my first rejection letter/email. I smiled when I read it, totally unaffected by the dismissal. So I didn’t make her cut. That is perfectly ok. I aimed very high approaching this agent as she represents one of my favorite authors. I thank her for her prompt reply but there are many other stars in the sky to shoot for.
I’ll just be over here sitting in my chair being authentic to myself.
The writing continues.

Dear Author,

 

Thank you for contacting ______ about representation.   Unfortunately, we are unable to offer you representation at this time. Due to the large number of submissions Susan receives, she is forced to be extremely selective when considering new clients. After reflection, we don’t feel that this is a perfect fit for Susan’s list. Publishing is very subjective, however, and another agent may well feel differently.

 

I sincerely apologize for the impersonal nature of this reply—we receive hundreds of submissions a month.

 

Thank you again for thinking of ______.  We wish you all the best of luck in the future.
Best wishes,

Stacy

 

3 thoughts on “Rejection Doesn’t have to Hurt

Leave a Reply

