TO DYE OR NOT TO DYE: Those Stubborn Gray Hairs

I just can’t. I just can’t look at myself and see gray hairs around my edges. I’m lucky they are not all through my hair but the edges are more than enough to make me feel those stubborn grays are aging me at least five years.

My daughter says I should keep them.

They look good on you. She says.

Out of the mouth of babes sometimes come the dumbest things, Of course she is all for gray hairs at twenty-four. I probably said the same nonsense to my mother, however, her testimony falls on deaf ears.  So  without haste I retouch those roots at first sight but gray hairs  are so resilient. It doesn’t matter if I my hair professionally colored or use  boxed colorants they come back in less than a month like my worst nightmare, screaming like a crazed Jack Nicolson at the Outlook Hotel.

Yeah, seeing those gray hairs make me feel  like screaming just like that.

I see  women, especially in my family, who embrace the gray and look fabulous rocking it…I  just can’t give into it…I just can’t. I know there are a lot of things I am going to have to get used to as this aging thing rolls on but I’m not ready for gray.

I’m a happy grandma. I’m a content forty-something almost fifty-something but I can’t give into this. And these two women are stunning!

gray 2gray 1

I hope my daughter will dye my hair when I no longer am able and I hope she dyes it something like this color 🙂

hair color

5 thoughts on “TO DYE OR NOT TO DYE: Those Stubborn Gray Hairs

  1. I struggle with the same problem. I’m a natural with so I used a rinse a few months ago and it seems like it just rinses out after two weeks and it doesn’t catch all the grays. I’m thiniking about going to a professional for a permanent. I’m frustrated with it, just yesterday, I bought a wig to hide the gray, so I can go to an interview. I didn’t get the job, but I got a new wig 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Henna doesn’t work either? That was my next step. I try to hold off from dying my hair a lot because my hair constantly needs moisture. There has to be a better solution to this……

        Like

Leave a Reply

