On Books: Finally Done with Fearless (Giveaway)

I tried. I wanted to be entranced with On Becoming Fearless by Arianna Huffington. I wanted to love this book because it was specifically written for women and how we can overcome fear in our lives. Personal stories from other women did touch me but not one ever resonated with my soul. Simply put, I’ve read these testimonies so many times before and nothing felt fresh to me. It wasn’t a page turner. I had to drag myself to pick it up during the day so this ‘self help’ book was just not for me…at this time, anyway but whose to say it won’t be five years from now.

I have learned that sometimes a book won’t ‘be’ what you need to read or hear at a time in your life. I remember reading Alice Walker’s Temple of My Familiar, a different genre I know, and I hated it. I didn’t understand the book at all but my mother loved it after I handed it off to her. Flash forward five years I find the book again and couldn’t remember why I hated it, so I read the first few pages and I was instantly drawn into it in a way that I wasn’t before. I was hooked. Whatever didn’t reach me five years earlier sung to me then. I got it. So, like Temple of My Familiar, Fearless could actually become a book I love but right now whatever it is I need from the book is not registering.

So, I’m finally done with Fearless and I’m very happy not to have to pick up this book up again. It was not a bad book even if I found it lacked passion for me but I can honestly only give it two out of three stars. It was written well and the stories were personable but flat in presentation. I felt a lot of the same things were repeated often in different ways but the meaning was exactly the same. That kind of repetition gets tired quickly and I found myself getting frustrated with the same monotonous message.

Although I didn’t love the book I believe someone else might so I’d like to give it away to one of you reading this post.

If you would like this slightly handled book I’d love to mail it to you (if you live in the United States), all you need to do is comment below. If only one person comments by 8 PM Friday, January 30th then that one gets it. If I get a few comments I will do a selective draw. If no one comments I will donate.

arianna

I will post my book selection #3 of 52 later this week.

5 thoughts on “On Books: Finally Done with Fearless (Giveaway)

  1. I know what you mean – I’ve had that one-moment: lifeless, the next: magnetic experience with so many books as well. I’m a fan of Arianna’s work – but mostly her interviews and speaking videos surrounding her Thrive book. This might sound like a strange recommendation, but I found the book Mama Gena’s School of Womanly Arts to be at it’s core about fearlessness – you might like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Arianna. Her evolution, work ethic, and drive. I thought i would love the book and its not like I hated it…it jusy didn’t move me or inspire me. I like strange recommendations 🙂 I’ll look it up
      Thank you for the suggestion

      Like

Leave a Reply

