On Birthdays: Malcolm X

quote-i-ve-had-enough-of-someone-else-s-propaganda-i-m-for-truth-no-matter-who-tells-it-i-m-for-malcolm-x-249354

How did I forget it was my favorite hero’s birthday today? le sigh…

I don’t know what this world or our community would be like if Malcolm had survived but I do very much wish he had lived long enough for me to understand him, march with him, and  feel his presence in the world.

A few things I love about Malcolm:

  •  He was always evolving. We all can learn and respect that one days situation does NOT have to be a lifetime situation. Malcolm evolved from a criminal to a world leader. Yes, world because people of color all over the world respect him.
  •  He was eloquent even when he was shredding someone to pieces. Rappers take note Malcolm used his words like swords without cussing or the N word and was the most powerful feared black man on the planet
  • He taught himself. When teachers told him he was not good enough because he was black he grew his intelligence on his own and learned. His mind didn’t shut down it kept seeking. We must know that not everyone wants us to succeed. It’s not their decision…it’s ours.
  • He was Muslim. When he fell out with Elijah Muhammad he took it upon himself to learn the religion. It was not a fad  or jailhouse religion for him.
  • He understood the need to be self efficient in our community.
  • His speeches are timeless. Ballot or the Bullet is on repeat in my house
  • FBI couldn’t catch him cheating….no shade just that when he turned his life around HE TURNED HIS LIFE AROUND.
  • Happy Birthday Mr. El Hajj Malik El-Shabazz!

    Here are a few of my favorite quotes:

    I believe in the brotherhood of man, all men, but I don’t believe in brotherhood with anybody who doesn’t want brotherhood with me. I believe in treating people right, but I’m not going to waste my time trying to treat somebody right who doesn’t know how to return the treatment.

    Be peaceful, be courteous, obey the law, respect everyone; but if someone puts his hand on you, send him to the cemetery.

    America needs to understand Islam, because this is the one religion that erases from its society the race problem. Throughout my travels in the Muslim world, I have met, talked to, even eaten with people who in America would have been considered ‘white,’ but the ‘white’ attitude had been removed from their minds by the religion of Islam.

    No, we are not anti-white. But we don’t have time for the white man. The white man is on top already, the white man is the boss already… He has first-class citizenship already. So you are wasting your time talking to the white man. We are working on our own people.
    Despite my firm convictions, I have always been a man who tries to face facts, and to accept the reality of life as new experience and new knowledge unfolds. I have always kept an open mind, a flexibility that must go hand in hand with every form of the intelligent search for truth.

    Leave a Reply

    