On Traveling: #Seesomeworld

The last year I have been seeing this hastag all over my Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook accounts. Sistas are travelling all over the place and their bug is infectious. I have grown restless looking at all the beautiful vacations of others on these feeds. I always thought of myself as a traveller but I’m not a world traveller but I’m ready to adopt this hastag as one of my new mottos. #seesomeworld


I am addicted to this site.

When I was in high school many, many moons ago I knew I was going to be the quintessential bougie American writer in Paris. I was going to have a quaint little Parisian flat only a few floors above a cool cafe where I would sip coffee and work on my travel typewriter. There were no laptops when I was in high school. but I had a cool travel one that came in its own case, decorated with Michael Jackson and Philadelphia 76ers stickers. Yeah, I sheepishly admit, I am that old.

Yeah, it looked like this.
Yeah, it looked like this.

Well, I got married at twenty and had three children. I travelled with my children every summer throughout the U.S. and Caribbean. I felt like a travelled woman back then but now not so much. I’m not trying to keep up with the joneses but world travel has always been a big fantasy, I just kept putting it off for one reason or another.

But now, with everything else I want to do with my life I want to SEE SOME WORLD!

I never thought I would want to travel on my own but I am seeing so many women of color doing just that and hey, its cheaper than my usual entourage. I want to see Paris again, and I’m willing to do so alone. I want to visit Thailand and the UAB. I want to stroll throughout Italy and bask in the sun of Spain. I want to dance in Rio, and maybe try a joint in Amsterdam. I want to hashtag my Instagram up with #seesomeworld

cuba

bostwan

paris bench

But how do I afford it? I have a mortgage and a business I’m trying to get started. As when my children were younger I felt like I couldn’t do all the travelling I wanted to because it wasn’t a priority, they were the priority. I’m starting to realize that everything is a priority if you want it to be and there will always be an obstacle if I want it to be. There will always be a reason why I shouldn’t but there are just as many reasons why I should.

I can’t just drop everything like some people. I feel better with a plan but I do realize that if I want to travel I have to just do it. I have to pick a month, pick a country and make it work for me.

Universe I pick January and I pick England. I feel if I’m going to travel alone for the first time out of the country it better be somewhere I’ve already been and feel comfortable. Hi there England, I’m coming.

london

One thought on “On Traveling: #Seesomeworld

Leave a Reply

