On Fear: Is It Too Late To Be Extraordinary?

I attended a small business class a few weeks ago and one of the instructors asked a series of questions on how far would you go for your extraordinary dream life. Would I put up my home as collateral to start my business, was I willing to  wake up every morning at four in the morning and go all day till midnight working on my venture? Would I be able to jump out of my comfort zone and into the unknown? Do I dare to be extraordinary over ordinary?

I absolutely find nothing wrong with ordinary. I think most of my life decisions have been ordinary and average. I did the things I needed to do but what I regret is not doing the things I wanted to do. Isn’t that what they say about aging?

Ten years ago I wanted to start my own business but talked myself out of it because it was easy to stay with great paying job. I don’t think too much on what my life would be like had I ventured out on my own. I try not to think too much on what I could have done or would have done because I didn’t. Maybe its aging and seeing my life in a different perspective. Something about forty-something, makes you feel daring and want more but I’m also feeling a bit disappointed. I dreamed bigger back then but I wish I pursued harder. Now I’m feeling like I’m trying to catch up with myself. I’m embracing the boldness I feel but not without some level of fear.

For the last couple of weeks I wake up with some level of fear. I think hard about the questions asked of me a few weeks ago. Am I doing the right thing? Am I willing to go hard and give up my comfort for the unknown. I’m afraid to but I’m afraid not to.

Is it too late for me to be extraordinary?

One thought on “On Fear: Is It Too Late To Be Extraordinary?

  1. As long as you are alive there will always be dreams. Just as they will always be, it will never be too late to be that person unless you just give up. Being average is about not sacrificing anything of importance, to succeed be willing to give up everything. Vince Lombardi once said, ” winning isn’t everything it’s the only thing”. Take that attitude you will win!

    Like

Leave a Reply

