On Family: Shaun King & Family Secrets

This week conservative news outlet Breitbarts released a story about the misrepresentation of the race of Shaun King, one of the faces of the Black Lives Matter movement. They claimed that Shaun was born to two white parents.  His birth certificate, in their minds confirmed this. Unfortunately, their story opened up for Mr. King family history he would have liked to have kept private. I understand his motivation, he is protecting his mother. His mother is not an outspoken activist, he is and although her life should be private, unfortunately his won’t.

He released this statement:

My mother is a senior citizen. I refuse to speak in detail about the nature of my mother’s past, or her sexual partners, and I am gravely embarrassed to even be saying this now, but I have been told for most of my life that the white man on my birth certificate is not my biological father and that my actual biological father is a light-skinned black man. My mother and I have discussed her affair. She was a young woman in a bad relationship and I have no judgment. This has been my lived reality for nearly 30 of my 35 years on earth. I am not ashamed of it, or of who I am—never that—but I was advised by my pastor nearly 20 years ago that this was not a mess of my doing and it was not my responsibility to fix it.
 

If I were to sit down with King I would tell him shame and embarrassment should not be part of his narrative when speaking of his mothers past. She should no longer carry guilt nor should he continue to bear it. No one is perfect and things do happen and we should feel guilty about some thing but nothing is worth lifelong embarrassment when you have corrected the behavior, learned from the behavior, and made just improvements in your life.

I don’t believe is carrying the weight of others and sometimes its hard because people will try to shame you with the actions of others…I used to cringe when I saw another  black person committing a horrendous crime or acting a fool for a newscaster but I stopped. My back is not strong enough for those kind of burdens, no back is.

I follow Shaun King on twitter and I am inspired by his passion. I’m glad his voice is out here. Lets not be so quick next time a group, conservatives, try to discredit our movement by slandering one of us. They want us to fight amongst each other…its something they could always depend on…us fighting each other more than we wanted to fight their system

This slander story does say one thing…conservatives want him to shut the hell up.

racism

say something

One thought on “On Family: Shaun King & Family Secrets

Leave a Reply

