On Skincare: Coffee Scrubs

I was never huge on scrubs till my daughter ordered  a coffee scrub from Frank Body. I absolutely fell in love with the smell and how radiant my skin looked after the first use. Once I discovered the hundreds of combinations I could make with coffee on  Pinterest I was all set to concoct my own.

Why Coffee?
Coffee is rich with antioxidants and a great anti-inflammatory agent. Coffee combined with salt and/or brown sugar is a great exfoliator and the caffeine works to tighten the skin.

Combinations/Ingredients
coffee-body-scrub-331 cup ground coffee
1/2 cup Himalayan Pink Salt and/or brown sugar
1/4-avocado oil/coconut oil/grapeseed oil/olive oil/almond oil

 

Combine ingredients in a small bowl. You get to play with how much or how little you want to make or the combinations you care to use. I prefer a heavier oil like avocado but I love the combination of the coconut oil scent mixed with the coffee. Invigorating!

I use this scrub on my whole body so  I apply it while I’m in the shower. The oil from the scrub helps moisturize the skin and makes it feel so smooth. It really helps with the excema I occasionally get in the winter months on my chest and back-I will leave out the salt in the mix when I apply it on those areas.

I would love to hear any feedback/reviews  on any of these home skincare suggestions if you try them. Healthy firm skin is something we all strive for, especially as we get older and I feel these natural solutions are a smart and less expensive solution to our woes.

Don’t forget to drink that water and eat those green leafy vegetables.

Have a great weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

