On Depression: Essence Magazine April Issue

One thing that I would hate to see die as we keep diving into the technological pool is magazines. I love magazines and have been addicted to them since I was twelve years old.

chirlane-mccray-essence_240x340_43Today Essence magazine came in the mail and as I’m skimming through I see they are doing a series on mental health within our community. New York first lady Chirane McCray is heading an initiative to  to remove the stigma surrounding mental illness and bridge gaps with programs that can help. 

I was unaware that her daughter suffers from anxiety and depression so I’m glad she is taking that personal story and using it to create a platform locally and nationally. Another first lady with style and leadership. I’m looking forward to seeing how in depth Essence will go with this and the stories they will unfold in the series.

The interview is in the April edition of Essence or visit at essence.com

 

Leave a Reply

